January 2016 highlights: Soup for the soul

The first few weeks back after Christmas are always crazy; and ours were particularly pre-occupied with welcoming two really talented new members to the team.

Our first video launch of the year was one was an edit from a December shoot with the lovely Rachel Allen; a fresh, healthy and vibrant homemade soup recipe from her new book, Coast.

I learned from this shoot the importance of “building” a soup in layers – it really helps each ingredient sing – and definitely recommend you give it a go. The cucumber sounds weird, but it SO works. Really delicious. Thanks to Rachel for being a breeze to work with, even after a nightmare of a flight over. I’m now re-watching all of her Easy Meals series!

Still in the “wellness” mindset, we also caught up with Ruby Wax, who was at HQ to talk about her new book ‘A mindfulness guide for the Frazzled’.

I really respect Ruby for making noise about mental health and sharing her story; she actually came up in my Undergraduate dissertation where I was looking at the treatment of mental health in the British media, but as I was trying to play it cool I decided not mention that… I look forward to reading more on mindfulness; the small parts of it that I do know about, and use, have become really important tools for my every day life.

Leave a Reply

